K!☆Mixed ☃

DJ Kirarin☆Snow ☃’s Remix Blog

Genki Dschinghis no Jibun Song

Posted by Kirarin☆Snow ☃ on 2008-03-11

Here’s another one from the Department of Uncanny Similarities:

The vocals of “Dschinghis Khan” and “Honto no Jibun” on top of the instrumentals of “Genki Jirushi no Oomori Song”.

Now with a PV! Is it just me or are the kids wearing the same yellow clothes as the ones in the “Dschinghis Khan” PV? Uncanny.

Not only do the tracks match up nicely musically; the lyrics are also thematically similar.

The scary thing is that this took me only about an hour and a half to make and required very little editing. The only editing I did was extracting the vocals, breaking the vocal tracks into segments, aligning the segments, adjusting the relative volume, and raising “Honto no Jibun” by a half-tone and slowing it down from 143 bpm to 140 bpm. “Dschinghis Khan” and “Genki Jirushi no Oomori Song” are left pretty much intact; their (identical) tempo and chord progressions fit together rather eerily, with only a little dissonance.

And then there’s the surreal experience of listening to Airi, Maasa, and Risako (as 3/4 of 4KIDS) in 2002 chanting in the background at the same time their 2007-2008 selves are singing…

Oh, and the PV. The coincidences between the lyrics and the PV are mind-warping: the building in the background lighting up during “kira kira kagayaku goden” (sparkling palace); the LET’S GO backdrop during “go brother”; Kago holding out her hands during “te wo kazase” (hold out your hands); Kago jumping in the air during “tobikoete” (jumping)…

Download: MP3

Hmm… what should I try next? I think I’m sick of the Khan… and it’s not even March 12 yet in my time zone…

11 Responses to “Genki Dschinghis no Jibun Song”

  1. maiZe said

    I’m absolutely in love with the Honto no Jibun part of this remix! And my brother put it best when he walked into my room while I was listening, looked at the title and said “Genki… Dschinghis… no Jibun Song… Wow, is that a mouthful XD”. But he loves it too.🙂 I think you’ve inspired him to remix some H!P songs too.

    You have funny timing. I’d reply to the comment you posted on my blog, except that pretty much right when you posted that, I talking with Ray and I’m actually gonna be moving over to Intl Wota😄. So I’ll still be using wordpress but with a different domain. Sorry to be a bother with making you change your blogroll… >_< I actually took down my announcement post on my blogspot blog for the moment while I transfer everything once again… Your post will come along with the rest of the blog… but I’d suggest switching back to my blogspot for the moment… A new relocation post will be up soon, I think.😄

  2. Great! The chorus is my favorite part too… I might consider taking “Dschinghis Khan” out altogether… haven’t thought about it.

    And some tips for H!P remixing, for anyone inspired:

    Vocals can be extracted from songs by opening up both the main track and the instrumental track in an editor like Audacity, aligning them, inverting one of the tracks, and mixing them together. On most songs, this still leaves in part of the instrumentals, but it’s much softer than the vocals, so they’re not easily detectable when laid over another song’s instrumentals. You can also change tempo and pitch to make things fit.

    That said, it seems that H!P recordings prior to summer 2006 or so have weird frequency mismatch issues, so even if you line up one part of the recording, the rest of the track will have instrumentals phasing in and out. This makes extracting vocals for older songs rather impractical, though I’ve only checked a few tracks. I know it’s true for all Berryz singles prior to and including “Jiriri Kiteru”. So it’s probably easiest to have vocals from newer songs.

    I’ve also used GarageBand for editing, but it’s only for Mac OS X.

  3. […] Genki Dschinghis no Jibun Song […]

  4. Anonymous said

    Awesome🙂

  5. What an absolute masterpiece! I love, love, love these remixes. The big thing is that it shows the similarity of many of these songs and how the ideas are recycled (entertainingly, I might add) over time. When Stage6 went down, we lost a bunch of talented remixers, including Chinamist, who has resurfaced on Youtube:

    http://bloggerparty.com/in_praise_of_chinamist_and_the_h_p_remixes

    http://www.radicalpatriot.vox.com

  6. johpan said

    I’ve been working on a few remixes that have yet to be released but a tool you might be interested in is Utagoe. Makes extracting vocals a lot easier (i think). I tried the whole inverting wave forms method and it does work but Utagoe does all of that for you, just plug in the regular song and instrumental .wavs and leave it alone for a minute or two.

    google it or mail me if you want it.

    I’ve never really used garageband… it doesn’t look that bad but I’m really comfortable in FLStudio but that’s only for PC. *sigh*

    Lovin’ the remix tho. The chorus/honto no jibun part makes me smile🙂

  7. johpan said

    whoops. the other comment links to my other blog. this one links to my music blog.

  8. @Rad: I’ve seen some of Chinamist’s remixes, but they all seem to be all video remixes, no audio editing involved, which I see as a different genre altogether. Are there any audio remixes?

    @johpan: Cool! I’ve got to check it out…

    And I dare say, this chorus is better than both the choruses of “Genki Jirushi no Oomori Song” and “Honto no Jibun” combined. That is, if awesomeness can be characterized as a function A(x) on the domain of musical sequences, then

    A(GJnOS + HnJ) > A(GJnOS) + A(HnJ)

    Awesomeness is obviously nonlinear over addition.

  9. gemma said

    sounds awsome! Go’s well together ^^

  10. (from Jim, posted in the wrong place due to a bug)

    This is like a peanut butter, jelly and candy bar sandwich. Ice cream. Cake.

  11. jim said

    Haha, very thorough!

Leave a Reply

 
